Search Books:

Join our mailing list:

Bookmark and Share

New Articles

The Mystery Murder Case of the Century
by Robert Tanenbaum


Which Brass Ring for You: Popularity or Success?
by JV Venable


Autistic Students: Are We Asking Them to Do Their Best While They Feel Their Worst?
by Janet Lintala


The Enemy Within
by Jason Riley


Prologue
by Anna Godbersen


view more>>


Recent Placements


Travis Smith
Live Happy
What Superheroes Teach Us About Responsibility

Randy Komisar
800ceoread
Straight Talk for Startups: 100 Insider Rules for Beating the Odds

Randy Komisar
Facebook
Bold Biz Talks, The KIND Foundation & Tax Tips for Startups

Mark Miller
Change This
Finding Your Lodestar: Long-Term Thinking for a Short-Term World

Sharon Prentice
Star-Telegram
Dealing With Death – You Are Not Alone!


view more>>



Bookmark and Share

The Waiting Room
by Dr. Leah Kaminsky

Published by Harper Perennial

 Read Reviews


Amazon.comBarnes & NobleIndieBound

Leah Kaminsky's powerful fiction debut—a multi-generational novel perfect for fans of The Tiger's Wife and A Constellation of Vital Phenomena—unfolds over a day in the life of a young physician in contemporary Israel, who must cope with modern threats in the shadow of her parents' horrific wartime pasts.

A young doctor in Haifa, Israel, must come to terms with her family's painful past—and its lingering aftermath—as the conflict between Palestine and Israel reaches its height and the threat of a terrorist attack looms over the city . . .

Born to two survivors in the smoky after-haze of WWII, Dina has never been able to escape her parents' history. Tortured by memories of Bergen-Belsen, her mother leaves Dina to inherit her decades of trauma.

Dina desperately anchors herself in family—a cherished young son, a world-weary husband, and a daughter on the way—and her work as a doctor, but she is struggling to cope, burdened by both the very real anxieties of her daily life and also the shadows of her parents' ghosts, who follow her wherever she goes. A witty, sensitive narrator, she fights to stay grounded in the here-and-now, even as the challenges of motherhood and medicine threaten to overwhelm her.

In taut, compelling prose, The Waiting Room weaves between Dina's exterior and interior lives, straddling the present and the past—and building towards a profoundly dramatic climax that will remind readers of the fragility of human life even as it reassures them of the inescapable power of love and family.



pub date: 2016-11-15 | Paperback | 9780062490476